The Truth About The Beach Boys.

My music taste is strange, it goes from The Prodigy to Nujabes to Black Keys and back to Michael Jackson and Dilla. Sure, Hip Hop is a first love but I like to listen to all kinds of stuff. Lately I’ve been into old school music. Not old school Hip Hop but old school like The Beach Boys. How did I get there? Dilla brought me there:

“London producer Bullion has taken his sample inspiration from two very different sources for this free remix album Pet Sounds: In the Key of Dee. Using samples from the great Pet Sounds and J Dilla’s repetoire, Bullion has created something wholly unique and refreshing. It’s not a mashup album as he at pains to point out, but it does mix samples from these two artists to great effect. The ultimate kudos must go to Bullion however, who spliced and diced these samples with his own superb prod.”

The sounds are really amazing. Dilla’s beats blend well with the Beach Boys traditional music. But I liked the music so much that I started to look further, look up samples and look up the original songs. I was curious. My curiousity brought me to the real nature of The Beach Boys. While they have a nice perfect son facade, if you listen closely to their lyrics, they ain’t so nice! No sir! No reversed devil-shit here, but straight up hardcore big pimpin’ hustlers! Check the next song of The Beach Boys, I Get Around:

Not convinced? Check out the lyrics below, dude.

Round round get around
I get around
Yeah
Get around round round I get around
I get around
Get around round round I get around
From town to town
Get around round round I get around
Im a real cool head
Get around round round I get around
Im makin real good bread

In the verse above they sing about getting around, from town to town. They say that they are real cool heads.
And eventually; they make real good bread. Do they just bake real good bread? Like wonderful white loafs and shit?
Hell no. They sing about getting money while getting around from town to town being a real cool head.
Damn, I need a job like that.

Im gettin bugged driving up and down the same old strip
I gotta finda new place where the kids are hip

Like modernday hustlers, they too roam the streets in their car with no particular place to go, looking for places to chill.
They’re getting bugged, they’re getting really irritated, so probably trigger happy.
Not to mess with.

My buddies and me are getting real well known
Yeah, the bad guys know us and they leave us alone

Now they are singing about their street-cred, increasing nicely.
And the bad guys now not to fuck with them.

I get around
Get around round round I get around
From town to town
Get around round round I get around
Im a real cool head
Get around round round I get around
Im makin real good bread
Get around round round I get around
I get around
Round
Get around round round oooo
Wah wa ooo
Wah wa ooo
Wah wa ooo

This Wah wa ooo sounds strangely familiar. Can’t put my finger on it yet.
I’ll get to that later.

We always take my car cause it’s never been beat
And weve never missed yet with the girls we meet

Nobody dares to mess with their car, and they always hit a homerun with the girls they meet.
Straight up pimpin’ if you ask me.

None of the guys go steady cause it wouldn’t be right
To leave their best girl home now on saturday night

Well, there you have it. They sing about one night stands.
Get in, get around, get out.

I get around
Get around round round I get around
From town to town
Get around round round I get around
Im a real cool head
Get around round round I get around
Im makin real good bread
Get around round round I get around
I get around
Round
Ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah

Round round get around
I get around
Yeah
Get around round round I get around
Get around round round I get around
Wah wa ooo
Get around round round I get around
Oooo ooo ooo
Get around round round I get around
Ahh ooo ooo
Get around round round I get around
Ahh ooo ooo
Get around round round I get around
Ahh ooo ooo

And now I’m sure. That Wah wa ooo is the prehistoric police call.
They’re calling out to the police! 

And there you have it. The truth about the Beach Boys. Ain’t no Nice Guys. Straight up O.G’s. Dangerous, running wild through the town in their cars and hustling girls while making bread. Dude.

Leave a Reply

